ABOUT US

Storefront Academy Charter School is a public charter school which opened to students and families in Fall 2015. Located at 609 Jackson Avenue in the Mott Haven neighborhood of the South Bronx, Storefront Academy Charter School educates urban youth of all learning abilities, and in the 2020-2021 hosts students in kindergarten through fifth grade. Eventually, our goal is to educate students from kindergarten through the eighth grade.

 

Storefront Academy Charter School boasts an optimized student/teacher ratio that enables our faculty to meet the individual needs of each student, supporting all levels of learners with differentiated instruction and supplemental skills-based support. All students are admitted by lottery.

 

The Storefront Academy Charter School day runs from 8:15 A.M-3: 45 P.M, with extended day offered for struggling learners. Students receive Physical Education, Music, Spanish language, Technology and Art classes weekly, as well as robust social and emotional support and support for English Language Learners.

 

Storefront Academy Charter School holds true to its mission to serve all students and their families, academically, socially and emotionally. With a population of students that are diverse in every way, teachers and staff create opportunities for the entire school community and community at-large to connect through community service projects and field trips to explore the world around them. Storefront Academy exposes students to future occupations, undiscovered field trip locations and goals for the future.

 
 

HISTORY

Since its founding in 1966, the Children’s  Storefront changed countless lives, positively impacted the educational landscape and provided incredible opportunity and infinite possibilities for the children of East Harlem. In 1981, Storefront Academy Harlem emerged as a tuition-free private school serving students Pre-K-8. In 2015, Storefront opened its first charter school in the South Bronx. Storefront closed its private school in 2018 and it has its second charter in East Harlem as of August 2019.

 

MISSION

The mission of Storefront Academy Charter Schools (SACS) is to provide children of varied academic strengths a quality education option that, prepares them academically, socially and emotionally to become critical thinkers, high-achieving students, and well-rounded individuals. Working in partnership with families and community members SACS instills a powerful sense of self and gives its students the tools to own the future and create meaningful adult lives. Our vision is to provide a rigorous, joyful and intentional learning environment for all students – one that paves the way for high school, college and life success.

 

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 6.35.24 PM.png

Richard Bayles

Chairman 

Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 6.35.34 PM.png

Tanya Hoffler-Moore

Secretary

Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 6.34.40 PM.png

Susan Reid

Trustee

Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 6.33.44 PM.png

Peter Low

Vice Chairman

Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 6.34.06 PM.png

Jonathan Stearns

Trustee

Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 6.33.31 PM.png

Amanda Low

Trustee

HeadShot (2).jpg

Justin Tolliver

Treasurer

Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 6.34.18 PM.png

Gretchen Pusch

Trustee

Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 6.35.42 PM.png

Noel Acey

Trustee

LEADERSHIP TEAM

 

Dr. Nicole Garcia

Maria Ruiz

Executive Assistant to C.E.O

maruiz@cstorefront.org 

Nidia Evangelista

Director of Operations

nevangelista@cstorefront.org 

Natalia Perez

Director of Communications

nperez@cstorefront.org 

Falan Abreu

Project Manager

fabreu@cstorefront.org 

Elizabeth Ruiz

Harlem Registrar 

eruiz@cstorefront.org 

Carol Singletary

Principal (Bronx)

csingletary@cstorefront.org 

Yoselyn Fernandez

Vice Principal (Bronx)

yfernandez@cstorefront.org 

Stuart Wolf

Director of Finance

swolf@cstorefront.org 

Matthew Tiwary

Director of Technology

mtiwary@cstorefront.org 

Madeley Sanchez

Parent Coordinator 

msanchez@cstorefront.org 

Taleema Chesney

Principal (Harlem)

tchesney@cstorefront.org 

Jennifer Johnson

Vice Principal (Harlem)

jjohnson@cstorefront.org 

Dignorlyn Poweriet

Director of Development

dpoweriet@cstorefront.org 

Yubdeley Ricardo

Finance and HR Associate

yricardo@cstorefront.org 

Lorena Rodriguez

70 East 129th Street

New York, NY 10035

(646) 328-9730

609 Jackson Avenue

Bronx, NY 10455

(646) 758-7201

Storefront Academy does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion (creed), gender expression, age, national origin, or disability.

© Copyright 2020 Storefront Academy.  Proudly created by SIX50 Productions.

Expand the Possible.  Own the Future.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram